A Gift From My Ancestors

If you read the About Me post you would know that I was born in the beautiful island of Puerto Rico. As a normal Puertorican family we are a melting pot from many different nations as Puerto Rico was a stop point of travel to the US. Many families fell in love with the island and decided to call it their home. My family has quite a diverse origin however we have a strong Italian connection from both my maternal grandmother’s side, the Carlo Family and from my paternal grandfather’s side, the Passalacqua Family which both came from Italy. The Passalacqua’s  migrated from Corcega who were originally from the Tuscan region and the Carlo came directly from Milan.

2011-11-17 00.58.15

Don Jeronimo Carlo (1720) and his lovely wife Maria Catalina Sapia (1720)

My mother just got here this past Saturday (Aug 2nd) to visit us for a month. As always she comes bearing gifts for all the members of the household. This time around she brought me a special gift, which was SALT from the Carlo Family sea salt processing plant! What an amazing gift it was for me! Unbeknownst to me, about 2 months ago The Carlo Family had a reunion and as a memorial gift they gave out a glass bottle full of sea salt from the salt plant own and founded by my ancestors. When I held this precious little bottle I felt the energy as well as the calling of my ancestors. My eyes did swelled up with tears. My mind would start to wonder if the trade of salt mining came with them from Italy? Mental images of them working the salt flats flooded my mind. The ancient world had a much better appreciation for salt than what we do know. They knew its importance and they venerated it for all its amazing properties.

IMG_0433

Carlo Family Reunion Gift

I welcomed the harvest season last week with our first harvest festival of Lammas. With it, the thoughts of how I want to honor my ancestors started to pour in. What a great way to connect with my ancestors of that side of the family than with this special salt. I am so looking forward to use this salt during my ancestor work and other special occasions.  Though my mother doesn’t fully understand my path, she felt the call to bring me this gift. I am happy that she listened to her intuition and follow through. I couldn’t be happier and grateful for her lovely gift that my ancestors have given me.

Salt Beds

Sea Salt Flats in Cabo Rojo, PR

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bairavee Balasubramaniam
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 11:09:42

    Beautiful ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Laura Bedford, Inner Light and Chi Awareness
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 12:04:12

    Thank you for sharing this story! (We have Italian origins as well on my mother’s side. And, a few years ago, I had a powerful dream where the Dalai Lama called me to him and said a single thickly accented word to me, “Italia”)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

What do you think?

Contact Information

1-610-657-2709
By Appointment Only
